42!

My mobile phone rings, so I give a typical, “hello, this is David Longstreet.” There is no “good morning, my name is…, how are you”, but the voice gets right to the point. The voice on the other end asks, “What is the average cost to develop software?” Without hesitation I respond,”42!”

There is a long pause and the voice asks, “42 what?”

I say, “42 whatever you want, you fill in the units.”

The voice, “What do you mean?”

I respond, “42 hours, 42, 000 dollars, 4,200 euros, 42 million whatever works best for you.”

The voice, “Wow, I like this. I think I will go with 42,000 hours.”

I say, “Sounds good to me.” There is a long pause, so I assume the voice is thinking.

The voice asks, “how many people?”

Quickly I respond, “42”

The voice, “How many months?”

In a rapid fire fashion I say, “42”

The voices says, “42,000 hours, 42 people, 42 months.”

I say, “I think you got it!”

The voice says, “I really want to thank you for helping me out on this.”

I gleefully respond, “No problem.”

The voice just hangs up. There is no typical good bye, just silence on the other end of the phone. I think to myself, “42, it is really the answer to all the questions of the universe.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://davidlongstreet.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/42/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

