What Software Component Gets Built First?

Abbott: Well Costello, the CIO has given me a promotion, project manager of our new software application.

Costello: If you’re the project manager, you must know the order of how the software application will be built?

Abbott: I certainly do. Well, let’s see, the order we plan on building software components is, What’s is first…

Costello: That’s what I want to find out.

Abbott: I said, What gets built first, Who gets built second, I Don’t Know’s gets built last.

Costello: Are you the project manager?

Abbott: Yes.

Costello: And you don’t know the order of how things are going to get built.

Abbott: I do.

Costello: Well then what gets built first?

Abbott: Yes.

Costello: I mean the components name.

Abbott: What.

Costello: The component that gets built first.

LONG PAUSE

Abbott: What.

Costello: The first component.

Abbott: What.

Costello: The first component.

Abbott: What is built first!!

Costello: I’m asking what is built first.

Abbott: What

Costello: What’s the component’s name?

Abbott: Yes.

Costello: Well go ahead and tell me what get’s built first.

Abbott: That’s it.

Costello: That’s what?

Abbott: Yes.

PAUSE

Costello: Look, you gotta build something first, then second, then third?

Abbott: Certainly.

Costello: What’s built first?

Abbott: That’s right.

Costello: When you record your time, what component gets charged?

Abbott: Yes

Costello: All I’m trying to find out is the component built first.

Abbott: What

SHORT PAUSE

Costello: Let me try something different, you have three components, what component get’s built last?

Abbott: No, what gets built first.

Costello: Ok, finish this sentence the last component built is…?

Abbott: I don’t know.

Costello: I don’t know.

Abbott: Yes?

Costello: What?

Abbott: No what get’s built first.

PAUSE

Costello: You know I just don’t give a darn.

Abbott: That is the name of our methodology.

Costello: What’s the name of your methodology?

Abbott: No, what’s built first?

Costello: Your methodology is….

Abbott: I don’t give a darn.

Costello: Neither do I.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sShMA85pv8M

Published in: on March 1, 2009 at 14:22  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://davidlongstreet.wordpress.com/2009/03/01/what-software-component-gets-built-first/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Brilliant!

    • Thanks for the comment. Of course this is an adaption of a very famous American comedy routine of Who is on first. One of these days I would like to create a video version.


Leave a Reply

